Chattanooga Public Library
The Public Library
Top Navigation
"Our Mission: To excite the community about the many resources and experiences they'll discover in books and beyond"

 

Headphones and player

Downloadables

Our library now offers free time-limited downloads in EPUB, Kindle, .PDF, MP3 and .wma (Windows Media Player) formats that you can listen to or view on your computer, many eReaders or many audio devices. There are hundreds of titles available in several separate databases:

EBooks:

  • Overdrive in EPUB
  • or Kindle format;
  • Project Gutenberg in EPUB from Overdrive;
  • or HTML(webpage), PDF and other formats directly from Project Gutenberg website
 

AudioBooks:

  • From OneClick Digital
  • and Overdrive
Both have MP3 and WMA formats.
 

Audio/Animation:


Downloadable Media from OverDrive

The Overdrive collection that your library maintains have both eBooks and eAudio titles. Our collection will be focusing on bestselling authors and summer reading books for our teen patrons. If you would like to make a request for popular titles just contact the library. We will process requests as money becomes available. Skip to eAudio information.

For eBooks, you will need an EPUB reader, a Kindle, a computer or other device running Adobe Digital Editions or a Kindle app. If you're not sure about your device, check this compatible devices list or contact the manufacturer of your e-reader. Additional software such as Adobe Digital Editions and/or the Overdrive Media Console will need to be installed depending on your device.

Overdrive also provides Project Gutenberg downloads, one of the largest collections of free public domain books available in various e-book formats. Use the link to Additional eBooks Always Available (lower left at http://chcbl.lib.overdrive.com) to find EPUB public domain titles.

  • Our checkout maximum is 2 titles from the Overdrive portion of the collection. Audiobooks count toward this total; but Project Gutenberg does not. This may change when we are able to purchase more titles.
  • EPUB downloads are checked out for a predetermined number of days depending on the title and are automatically returned to the library. Kindle format is dowloaded directly from Amazon through the Overdrive interface and can be returned early through your Amazon account
  • No movies or music downloads at this time (we may offer this in the future).
  • For the Project Gutenberg collections in formats other than EPUB, use the Project Gutenberg website

Additional instructions are available for individual devices:

Apple Devices Android Kindle Nook Blackberry

If you have any questions about Overdrive downloadables after you view the tutorials available at My Help and Getting Started on the our Overdrive landing page at http://chcbl.lib.overdrive.com, ask a library staff member or click on "Support" in the Overdrive site for more assistance. Downloads attampted at library locations rather than at home cannot be saved to the public computers. To save a title, you must have a wireless laptop with Windows, an e-book reader, mobile device with Internet access or a compatible audio player with you.

For audiobook downloads, you will need a computer or portable device that can play MP3 or WMA files. Please check for information about compatible devices for Overdrive.

  • Our checkout maximum is 2 titles from the Overdrive portion of the collection; eBooks count toward this total. This may change when we are able to purchase more titles.
  • Audiobooks are checked out for a predetermined number of days depending on the title and are automatically returned to the library collection. Be sure to checkout the correct format for your player.
  • No movies or music downloads at this time (we may offer this in the future).

Read on for more audiobook options OR

Proceed to Overdrive

Audiobooks Downloads From OneClickDigital

OneClick Digital contains the former Netlibrary or Ebscohost collection.

  • It's titles are available in WMA or MP3 format.
  • Highly customizable check-out times that can be returned early.
  • When you proceed to OneClickDigital, you will need to Make an Account (link in upper right corner).
  • Then you will need the OneClick Digital Media Manager installed on a Windows computer; OR for Mac computers, configure your account for manual download. Use iTunes to open or transfer the audiobook to your mobile device.

More extensive instructions are available for using specific devices with OneClick Digital.

Proceed to OneClick Digital

 


The TumbleBook Library

The TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books). TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which we have licensed from children's book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format. This service includes steaming audio and animation (viewed over the Internet connection) as well as, with the installation of the free TumblePad software, downloadable audio and animation (can be viewed later on a computer, or netbook.).

Proceed to The TumbleBook Library

 

Chattanooga Public Library
Chattanooga, Tennessee
© 2010