A Brief Guide to Genealogical Materials
in the Local History and Genealogy Department
Need a class to get started? To expand your knowledge?
Check our Program Page to find out what's coming up.
Department Information
The library catalog is one of the first places to begin research. All books
and some microforms in the collection are listed by author, title, and subject
in the database. Call numbers preceded by LH, TennR, and MilC refer to materials
in this department.
Since the department is a reference collection, materials are not available
for check out or interlibrary loan. Facilities for copying library materials
are located in the department. This can be considered a good thing because any resource that you need will always be available for you to see.
The library has access to
These databases are specifically for genealogical research. The ones with remote access will require a library card outside our library buildings. Use
a link here or from the E-Reference List to examine these resources!
The Research
The first thing to remember in beginning a family history is to BEGIN WITH
YOURSELF. Without skipping a generation, continue to trace your parents, grandparents,
greatgrandparents, etc. When a generation is omitted, it is very easy
to stray from the direct lineage.
You need to obtain as much information as possible about your family before
beginning to search the various records. You should contact older family members
for data on ancestors and to locate family papers or Bible records. The information
needed to begin your search should include the ancestors name, birth,
marriage, and death dates, as well as the city or county of residence. Some
of the information received from relatives may be "family tradition"
but this may provide clues to help in your research.
When you begin to gather data, a system of organization will need to be worked
out so each generation is clear. A genealogical chart is the best method for
arranging basic data. Sample charts which may be photocopied are available
in the department.
It is very important to document any information you find. Keep a record
of the author, title, volume, page or other proper reference so data can be
verified. You should also list materials used even if no information is found.
This avoids needless repetitive searching.
Census Records
Most researchers begin by using census records compiled by the federal government
every ten years since 1790. Information on these records varies from year
to year based on the questions asked. From 17901840 only the head of
the household is listed by name. Other family members are noted only by sex
and age groupings. Beginning in 1850, every person in a household is listed
by name with additional information given. The 1890 census was destroyed by
fire with only a few pages surviving.
Census records are restricted from public use for a period of seventytwo
years from the date they were taken. Forms providing regulations for requesting
data from a more recent census may be obtained from the Local History Department.
The department has census records through 1930 for Alabama, Arkansas, Florida,
Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South
Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Printed indexes for
locating ancestors on the microfilmed census are available for many states.
Soundex microfilm serves as an index to the 18801930 census. The department
has the soundex for Tennessee, Georgia, and Alabama only. [link
to census holdings]
Registered borrowers of the library may order census and soundex microfilm
not in the collection through interlibrary loan. Please contact us for details.
County Records
After using census records, the next step in your research is to consult
state and county records. These include court minutes, deeds, marriages, tax
lists, tombstone inscriptions, wills, etc.
The departments collection of published county records varies by state
and county but covers in some depth Tennessee and other southeastern states.
Records for other sections of the country are available in more limited scope.
Certain records, such as birth and death records, were not maintained on a
regular basis until the twentieth century. Birth and death records for Tennessee
are available beginning in 1908.
The BASIC GENEALOGICAL RESOURCES section provides examples of some of the
bibliographies and guides useful in determining existing records for various
states and counties.
In addition to printed records, an extensive collection of Tennessee county
records is on microfilm. A list of these holdings is available in the Local
History Department.
Military Records
These records can provide genealogical information on ancestors who may have
served in a particular war. Most of the records available at this time cover
the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, and the Civil War.
Military records are usually arranged by state and are in the form of rosters
which list those serving from a particular state. The department contains
many such records, as well as a general index to Revolutionary War service
records, Tennessee, Georgia and Alabama Civil War service records, and the
Confederate pension applications for Tennessee.
For service records for members of the military from other states, write
the General Reference Branch, National Archives, 7th and Pennsylvania
Avenue NW, Washington, D.C. 20408 and request NATF Form 80.
Family File
This alphabetical surname card file indexes family sketches found in books,
periodicals, clippings, and other departmental material. The file is continually
updated. Be aware the citations may not necessarily refer to the family line
you are researching.
Obituary Indexes
An index to obituaries appearing in Chattanooga newspapers from 1897 to the
present is available in printed form and in an online database through 2003. [search the database]
The index provides the name of the deceased, newspaper name, and date of
the obituary.
Periodicals
Magazines published by historical and genealogical societies are a frequently
overlooked resource because they are unindexed or indexed only by issue. Many
of these publications contain family and county records not available elsewhere.
Researchers also can keep abreast of new genealogical publications or locate
persons working on the same lineage.
The department subscribes to several national, state and local historical
and genealogical publications.
Basic Genealogical Resources
Listed below are examples of many of the basic types of genealogical resources
used in research which will be found in most libraries containing a genealogical
collection.
LH
929.1
Gre |
Greenwood, Val. D. The Researchers
Guide to American Genealogy. 2000. |
TennR
976.8
M |
McCay, Betty L. Sources for Genealogical
Searching in Tennessee. 1970. |
TennR
973.7468
T |
Tennessee Civil War Centennial Commission.
Tennesseans in the Civil War. 1965. |
LH
016.32573
L |
Lancour, A. Harold. A Bibliography of Ship
Passenger Lists, 15381825. 1963. |
LH
975.5
T |
Torrence, Clayton. Virginia Wills and Administrations,
16321800. 1931. |
TennR
312.09768
U |
U.S. Bureau of Census. 1830 Tennessee Census
(East, Middle, and West). |
LH
929.1
Kem |
Kemp, Thomas J. Vital Records Handbook.
2000. |
LH
016.9291
Dau |
Daughters of the American Revolution. Library
Catalog. |
Hours
The Local History and Genealogy Department is open the following hours:
9 a.m. 9 p.m. Monday& Tuesday
9 a.m. - 7 p.m. Wednesday & Thursday
9 a.m. 6 p.m. Friday & Saturday
Directions
From either I75 or I24, follow signs marked "Chattanooga"
Hwy. 27 North. Take the M.L. King Blvd. exit, bear right and continue on M.L.
King Blvd. to Broad St. (2 blocks). Turn right on Broad and go one block (Broad
& 10th Sts.). The library is located on Broad between 10th
and 11th. Pay parking lots are located nearby.
Research By Mail
The staff will do limited research by mail. Contact the Local History and
Genealogy Department regarding your request. Prepayment is required.
Fees are:
| |
Registered library borrowers |
$5.00 handling fee plus copies
($.20 per photocopy, $1.00 per microfilm copy |
| |
Non-registered borrowers |
$10.00 handling fee plus copies
($.20 per photocopy, $1.00 per microfilm copy |
For More Information Contact:
Local History and Genealogy Department
ChattanoogaHamilton County Bicentennial Library
1001 Broad Street
Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402
4237575317
|